Art Ross Trophy Winners: A Look Back Since 2000

In the world of professional ice hockey, few accolades shine as brightly as the Art Ross Trophy. This prestigious award is presented annually to the player who amasses the highest number of points during the regular season, showcasing their prowess in both goal scoring and playmaking.

Let’s delve into the list of Art Ross Trophy winners since 2000 and relive some of the most outstanding performances in NHL history.

The Origin of Excellence of Art Ross Trophy

Named after the legendary Canadian ice hockey player, Art Ross, this trophy bears the legacy of one of the greatest defensemen of his era. It’s a symbol of excellence and a testament to the skill, dedication, and relentless effort displayed by the players who have earned it.

The Art of Scoring and Assisting

To clinch the Art Ross Trophy, a player must not only be a formidable goal scorer but also a skilled playmaker. Points are earned through a combination of goals and assists, highlighting a player’s ability to not only put the puck in the net but also create opportunities for their teammates. This dual proficiency is what sets the winners apart from the rest.

Legendary Winners of the Art Ross Trophy

Over the years, the Art Ross Trophy has found its way into the hands of some of the most illustrious names in ice hockey history. Let’s take a trip down memory lane and revisit the winners since 2000:

1Connor McDavid2023, 2022, 2021, 2018, 2017
2Leon Draisaitl2020
3Nikita Kucherov2019
4Patrick Kane2016
5Jamie Benn2015
6Sidney Crosby2014, 2007
7Martin St. Louis2013, 2004
8Evgeni Malkin2012, 2009
9Daniel Sedin2011
10Henrik Sedin2010
11Alex Ovechkin2008
12Joe Thornton2006
13Peter Forsberg2003
14Jarome Iginla2002
15Jaromir Jagr2001, 2000, 1999, 1998, 1995
Legendary Winners of the Art Ross Trophy

Connor McDavid: The Five Time Champion

Connor McDavid, the captain of the Edmonton Oilers, stands tall as a five-time Art Ross Trophy winner. His most recent triumph came in the 2022/23 NHL season when he registered a remarkable 153 points, with 64 goals and 89 assists in 82 games. McDavid’s consistency is awe-inspiring, having secured the award in previous seasons with 123 points in 2021-22 and 105 points in 2020-21.

Leon Draisaitl: A German Sensation

Leon Draisaitl, another Oilers standout, claimed the trophy in the 2019-20 season with 110 points, comprising 43 goals and 67 assists. He became only the third Oilers player to achieve this honor, showcasing his prowess as a top-tier center in the league.

Nikita Kucherov: A Russian Dynamo

Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning made a remarkable mark in the 2018-19 regular season, leading the NHL with 128 points. His outstanding performance also included a career-best of 41 goals. Kucherov’s achievement not only set a record for Russian-born players but also added his name to the list of Lightning legends who have won the Art Ross Trophy.

Patrick Kane: An American Trailblazer

In 2016, Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks made history by becoming the first American-born player to claim the Art Ross Trophy with 106 points. Kane’s season was marked by a career-high in goals and assists, along with a 26-game point streak that left a lasting impact on the league.

Jamie Benn: Stars’ Shining Star

Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars secured his first Art Ross Trophy in the 2014-15 season with 87 points, just one more than John Tavares. His championship-winning performance included a pivotal four-point game that showcased his ability to deliver in clutch moments.

Sidney Crosby: A Two-Time Winner

Sidney Crosby, a true icon of the game, added to his legacy by winning the Art Ross Trophy twice. In the 2013-14 season, he led the league in points and assists with 104 points, securing his second Art Ross Trophy, with the first coming in the 2006-07 season.

Martin St. Louis: A Memorable Journey

Martin St. Louis, who now serves as the head coach of the Montreal Canadiens, won his second Art Ross Trophy in the 2012-13 regular season. St. Louis’ victory came in a season where he outshone the likes of Steven Stamkos, Alex Ovechkin, Sidney Crosby, and Patrick Kane.

Evgeni Malkin: A Triple Triumph

Evgeni Malkin’s exceptional performance in the 2011-12 season saw him not only win the Art Ross Trophy but also the Hart Memorial Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award. His 109 points in 75 games firmly established his place among the league’s elite.


In a league brimming with talent, these players have risen above the competition to etch their names in the annals of NHL history. The Art Ross Trophy serves as a symbol of their dedication, skill, and unwavering commitment to the sport of ice hockey. As we look back at these remarkable athletes, we can’t help but be inspired by their extraordinary achievements on the ice.

Austin Taylor

Who is Austin Taylor?

Meet Austin Taylor, your go-to source for everything ice hockey! With a passion for the sport that’s as deep as the ice itself, Austin Taylor brings you concise, expert insights and nitty-gritty details on all things hockey. From gear reviews to strategy breakdowns, Austin Taylor is your trusted guide to navigating the exhilarating world of ice hockey. Get ready to lace up your skates and dive into the game with Austin Taylor as your ultimate companion.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *